Knights Templar NWN

A forum for the Knights Templar mod for Neverwinter Nights
 
HomeFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Achievement Books

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Lifon



Posts : 13
Join date : 2009-02-03

PostSubject: Achievement Books   Tue Feb 17 2009, 21:47

I'm not familiar with scripting so I'm not sure how feasible this is, but I've been toying with the idea of attempting to use Lilac Souls script generator to build a mod. One of the ideas I am intrigued by is an achievement system, in the vein of Guild Wars, WoW, LOTRO or Warhammer Online. The best way to accomplish this would likely be a book in the characters inventory that updates information based on achievements.

Examples of Achievements that might appear in the book:
Exploration- Exploring every nook and cranny of a zone, you would have to set way points that the player would have to pass that tick off as they pass each one in a zone before updating a book. An example reward of that would be perhaps the player receives a map of that zone in their inventory so that in the case of a server crash/reset they don't have to 'unfog' the zone, it automatically displays the entire map. (I think the Vision charms remove the exploration value from the mod, so I never use them)

Collecting- Finding and completing armor set pieces... Reward, I haven't thought that one out yet..Maybe after finding a certain number of sets, the character receives a slightly better chance% on the custom drop for set items.

Fighting- Defeating X number of a certain critter type. Perhaps the reward for that would be a bonus on their weapon or armor vs that creature.

I don't know if that would work here or not, but thought I'd throw the idea out there.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
GammaGm



Posts : 64
Join date : 2008-12-29

PostSubject: Re: Achievement Books   Thu Feb 19 2009, 19:47

The random loot progression tables could possibly be impacted by how far you are into a particular dungeon or by how difficult a particular monster is. I really don't like that certain monsters always drop a certain item of power, because then they get farmed incessantly, players figure out shortcuts on how to get to them etc (such as we have now on running through to finish a dungeon).

If the difficulty of a monster impacted the loot drop, that might be interesting.

The idea that certain sets might increase your odds of a drop or a better drop is intriguing, especially if it were off set with significant penalties. Imagine trying to survive hell in "Lucky Bobs Golden Britches" that were regular cloth, but increased your odds of gear significantly. geek
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Achievement Books
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Amelia Atwater-Rhodes' Other Books
» Scrolling Books
» Paws' Bestest Books!
» Military History Books
» naval brigade books

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Knights Templar NWN :: Comments & Suggestions :: Items-
Jump to: